top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel

Film round up



Ghostbusters: Frozen Empire


I walk into a new Ghostbusters film ready for nostalgia by the bucket load, naughty ghosts eating stuff, people being slimed and quick one-liners. I know what I'm in for and I love it. I would have never dreamed that back when I saw Ghostbusters 2 at the cinema (I was a little young to see the first at the cinema) that all these years later I'd still be marching out of the cinema singing that theme with a big grin on my face.




Godzilla x Kong


Sunday all I needed was to get in that cinema, relax in the dark and enjoy a couple of hours of monster fun!


I knew what I was in for with Godzilla x Kong, I knew all I wanted was some great monsters fighting monsters. I got exactly that and a whole lot more. Wasn't expecting to be whipped along on a gripping and yes, at times, emotional ride.


I personally feel there have been some ups and downs with this franchise and I always also need the human perspective and narrative. This time they delivered on all fronts.


There are some really great visuals throughout, especially when the monsters are at earth level, a hint of a Guardians theme, comedy, Dan Stevens and Brian Tyree Henry add some great comedy dynamics. Yep. Enjoyed that much more than expected!




Next Goal Wins


I did want to see this at the cinema but it didn't work out and if I'm completely honest, Waititi has been in my bad books since Thor: Love and Thunder. I mean it wasn't terrible in my opinion, however, it was also like an uncensored Waititi brain dump. It needed a little bit more regulation. Anyway, I gave Next Goal Wins a chance. It was a great, inspirational, based on a true story, underdog comes through kinda romp. Fassbender is very good as the reluctant coach. An easy watch, but a good watch.




Road House


Whilst I went in without any expectations, I found that I had a grin on my face the whole time. You know, if something makes me smile that much and just boosts my mood, it's a complete winner. It was unexpectedly funny, the baddies were mostly idiots, on purpose that is, and funny at being rubbishly bad, and then you have Billy Magnussen doing his bit of an arsehole turn and, then there was Connor McGregor.... I don't know how to describe his character... you need to watch it! 🤣 Some impressive fight choreography, stunts and nifty cinematography. Gyllenhaal does this all with absolute ease and I may I add, style. I'd recommend looking up his training regime in preparation for this role and I was interested to find out more about the fighter Connor McGregor too. I found a lot to like about this. I thought it'd be an easy, almost background watch, it was so much more. Great pace too. Cool soundtrack. Good movie fun. 🙂




139 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page