top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel

London Marathon 2024

I think this is one of the hardest training blocks I've ever been through. Mentally and physically. Why do it you ask? Why not just give myself a break and relax? Let me explain...


I'm training for my 3rd London Marathon, only my third marathon overall too and I feel very lucky and privileged for it to again be London, but it had to be. It's a family tradition and I'm doing this one for my Dad.


I'm a runner because of my Dad, who took up running in the mid 80s, aged around 55! My sister and I ran the fun runs and soon my Mum got fed up holding the coats and joined in too. We've all completed the London, it's a family tradition and one so which means more this year than ever.


My Dad managed to get to the grand old age of 93 without too many major health issues and was still going out running and walking. For his 90th birthday, during the pandemic, he did a 5km route round the garden, through the garage and back round again! The following year he did a virtual half marathon, which my sister and I accompanied him on.





In around June 2023, just after his 93rd birthday he was diagnosed with high grade, incurable Lymphoma. A huge shock to all of us. It slowed him down dramatically, but did he give up? Of course not. Even when he was on chemo treatment in tablet form which he had at home, he was still out doing some gardening, he was still walking around, he was still buying and selling online. His last minute was him trying to stand up, trying to keep going.


He never stopped, he never gave up. Which is why this marathon training is so important to me. Which is why I won't stop or give up either.


Dad passed away on 30th December 2023 and marathon training started on the 1 January 2024. It is not an understatement to say that it's been a hard training block for many reasons and whilst getting out the door has been difficult, the motivation to do it for Dad and for my own mental health has meant that I haven't stopped. I'm tired, yes but that feeling means that I'm putting in the work.


I've decided to raise money for Lymphoma Action this year. They helped me so much when I needed support. They are there to help anyone who has Lymphoma and their families and so no one has to go through this alone. Their volunteers who answer their support line are just incredible. They have so many information leaflets about the disease. They are an incredible resource and support system.


Please donate here:


17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page