top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel

Top Ten 2023

I usually spend so long contemplating my top ten of the year that it's about April by the time I make a decision. At least I've been consistent! Let's just say that that the first three months of this year have not exactly lent themselves to getting a blog finished! But, I've done it! Finally. So, without further ado....



10. Rye Lane


An off-beat, quirky but still classic British romantic comedy which was one of my first big surprises over the year. Really pleased I saw it at the cinema.




9. Puss in Boots


There are a number of films on my list which completely surprised me in 2023. Puss in Boots being one of them. Funny, surprising and easter eggs galore.






8. Renfield


I've always had a fascination with vampire films. There's not too many around these days, so I was very excited to see this on the release radar. I thought it was fun, cheesy and bloody enough to rank high on my vampire top ten (that's for another blog).






7. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem




One of the biggest surprises of the year. I went along for a relaxing evening at the cinema, not many expectations but I had seen good reviews. Well, I was completely blown away! A beautiful coming of age story. Funny, sweet, moving and a completely brilliant soundtrack.




6. Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse



If the ninja turtles make an appearance on my Top Ten, then how could I not include the masterpiece that is Spider-Verse. If you've seen it, you know. If you haven't seen it? I think you really need to re-assess your life choices!


5. John Wick- Chapter 4



All I need to say is the stair sequence right? This is one of those franchises that just somehow manages to get better and better with each instalment. I didn't think much could top the knife fight in John Wick 3, but oh my goodness, they managed that and then some.


4. Mission Impossible: Dead Reckoning Part 1



With some of the most breath-taking and dangerous stunts in cinema history, this is not just another action film. We'd all seen the trailer, we knew which particular stunt we were waiting for and I think the whole cinema held it's breath. It wasn't just that though, the rest of the sequences, especially the train and the comedy. Always great fun, always a spectacular movie event.


3. Godzilla Minus One




This was quite a late entry on the list. There was suddenly a lot of chatter about the new Godzilla film. I love a monster movie and have seen quite a lot of other Godzilla films. Oh my goodness, what an absolute delight. This Godzilla was one angry sob and he didn't care. The human story alongside all this though was what really stood this apart from other entries. Plus the amazing effects. If you haven't seen it, I urge you to find it immediately! Of course, now the well-deserved recipient of an Oscar for special effects!


2. Wonka




I'm not sure how much I can describe just how surprised I was by Wonka and just how much I absolutely love this film. I went into the film just looking for a relaxing, fun afternoon in the cinema with my friend. I emerged obsessed! It's a big hug of a movie, comforting, uplifting and full of joy. I haven't stopped singing the soundtrack.


See my review here:



1 Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 3




Well, it had to be, didn't it. James Gunn didn't let us down for the final (sniff, sniff) instalment in one of the best trilogies and stories in cinema history. Little did we expect to be sobbing uncontrollably about a CGI raccoon. It was his story all along (nope, still can't do it without stifling a sob). I managed six cinema trips. I would have been more but for the fact that I needed to recover each time.


See my review here:




A few other honourable mentions:


Super Mario Bros

Unwelcome

The Fabelmans

Cocaine Bear

Past Lives

The Hunger Games

A Man Called Otto




34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page